Categories
Uncategorized

Invitation to a Day of 44 Sunsets

and to a poetry reading at the Poetry for the Pandemic FYI Series hosted by UVic Department of English

30 January, 2021
Victoria, BC

Dear Poemgranates,

No roses, no foxes, no little chair to be moved on a little planet. My day of 44 sunsets goes like this. I look into a poem and find myself peering back. I wonder if that is another way of saying I find my desires better expressed in another’s words. It is many days. But I think of brevity and sharpness.

That often means I think of Christopher Citro’s “Our Beautiful Life When It’s Filled With Shrieks” where Citro writes, “I love you. I want us both to eat well.” This is what I want for the day. This precision, this clarity. I want to ask for you and for little else. I think of writing another poem on beauty but I decide there is nothing more monumental to say.

I am of irrational desires. I cannot stop thinking about May Chong’s “For Reasons.” The poem takes me to another world at dawn where I wake up with irrational longings and the world is kind about it. ” Outside / some brown bird is singing / its fool heart out, and / I want its name to fall / from my mouth.” I want that too.

I read “St. Kevin and the Blackbird” again and Heaney asks “And since the whole thing’s imagined anyhow, / Imagine being Kevin. Which is he? / Self-forgetful or in agony all the time”  and I think this is a fair question to be asked of any saint, any poet. Here Heaney brushes imagination aside but recognises that to imagine is to find ways in and out of fugue. I write over an old poem and don’t imagine myself in it. The corporeal memory is broken and shared. This time around I am rescued. I decide to read this poem aloud. This is an invitation. I am reading a poem at the Poetry for the Pandemic FYI Series on 2nd February at 15.30 PT. Please come. 

Bring a poem and we’ll move our little chairs to better see the sun.

Ever yours,

ALHS

Leave a comment